Nirvana: Come As You Are

come-as-you-areNirvana – Come As You Are is a  rare live television concert from 1992.

I have to warn you that the release is not the greatest quality. Visually it is very pixelated to begin with and remains murky throughout from afar, but when the cameras are up close it’s a lot better. The audio isn’t super great, but it’s not terrible.

The DVD cover is a bit misleading as it features In Utero-era Cobain. To some this will be a cash-in item, but for Nirvana enthusiasts the chance to see any rare shows and own them will be worth the purchase price.  I couldn’t find out where the performance was, I am thinking maybe South America, comment below if you know.

They play 24 songs, (see below for tracking listing). There’s very little interaction with the audience but there’s some goofing around. Cobain sings ‘Come As You Are’, for the first 45 seconds or so as “hey hey hey hey heys”, and there’s a break where Dave and Kris goof around, with Dave on a kids drum set, one of them proclaims they are the most “exciting band in the world”, and name-drop Jad Fair. Dave also plays ‘Polly’ on a kids drum set. They also play the intro to ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’ without playing the song fully.

The quality is a bit on the poor side and there’s some lost visuals during ‘Negative Creep’, where it has a static image with a generic “please wait” phrase. For hardcore fans this will not matter, if you are a completist then you simply must by the DVD, but do be aware its not of MTV Unplugged quality. It suits Nirvana’s sound more and it’s great to see the band not super polished and goofing off.

The DVD is region free and runs for approx 82 minutes. No extras.

Available on DVD from MVD Visual

Track Listing:

  1.  Nobody Knows I’m New Wave
  2.  Aneurysm
  3. Smells Like Teen Spirit (Intro)
  4. Breed
  5. Smells Like Teen Spirit (Intro)
  6. Drain You
  7. Beeswax
  8. Spank Thru
  9. School
  10. Come As You Are
  11. Lithium
  12. Lounge Act
  13. Sliver
  14. About A Girl
  15. Polly
  16. Jam
  17. In Bloom
  18. Territorial Pissings
  19. Been a Son
  20. On  a Plain
  21. Negative Creep
  22. Blew
  23. All Apologies
  24. Endless, Nameless

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *